Posted by: ncisfan1985 | January 18, 2011

I’m baaaack!!!!

Okay, I can’t really explain my long absence but I finally got inspired after watching tonight’s episode.

Now, before I go on, I’m gonna try something different and just point out what I liked and what I didn’t like.  I had originally set out to do this in the beginning but I ended up just writing recaps of the episodes and didn’t really give my opinion.

BACK TO YOUR REGULARLY SCHEDULED PROGRAM…

“Recruited”

This episode dealt with the whole “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy in the Armed Forces that was ruled unconstitutional just recently.  To briefly sum it up, boy named Paul Simmons is interested in joining the Navy but he’s gay and doesn’t know what he will face if he does join.  He meets the recruiter, Navy Petty Officer First Class Simon Craig, (also gay) and he helps him along by giving him some advice.  Paul’s father, thinking that there’s something hinky going on between the two besides just talking, confronts the recruiter and kills him.

Personally, I didn’t really like the case.  Don’t get me wrong, I think Guy Wilson who played Paul Simmons did a superb job.  He was very believable but somehow the rest of the case felt flat to me.

What I did like, however, was the story going on outside of the case.  Bob Newhart came in playing Ducky’s predecessor, Dr. Walter Magnus (the Ducky before Ducky).  Throughout the episode, the mystery as to why he is there at NCIS is slowly built up until the conclusion at the end when Magnus confirms to Ducky that he has Alzheimer’s and he came to NCIS in hope of remembering what he did, all those years ago.  This particular story had me almost in tears.  Bob Newhart did an incredible job protraying the retired autopsy doctor.  The ending, where Ducky and the team show Magnus what he did by showing pictures of all the victims that he helped solve their murders and the families that he helped get closure, was a very touching moment.

It was great seeing Vance back and the friendlier tones between Gibbs and Vance were surprising, but in a good way.  I also like that the episode ending with us wondering if Vance might resign his position as Director of NCIS.

The one thing about tonight’s episode that I’m borderline on is the Miami Man.  As a Tiva fan, having Miami Man be a potential snag in Tiva finding their way to each other is not something I look forward to.  However, I am not giving up hope that “Ray”/Miami Man is a male relative of Ziva’s or, like some people think, not really a man at all but Ziva’s mother.  I do know that there is something that she is hiding from her teammates about him and that, my friends, is the intriguing thing about it and is why I’m gonna keep watching to see where this story takes us.  Besides, Ziva’s just been through hell with the whole Rivkin thing.  Just doesn’t seem right to have her thrown into another mysterious relationship. (I know, Rivkin was in Season 6 but it still seems kinda fast.)

Anyway, thanks for hanging in there; sorry for the long hiatus and I hope I wrote something useful and not just gibberish because I kinda just wrote this off the top of my head.  Didn’t really think about it.

Until next week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

